Walk A Mile In Your Shoes

12 Jul

Walk A Mile… In Your Shoes

 

Supplies:

Textured Cardstock Pack (PA-1036),Metallics Paper Pad (PA-1160) , Metallic Black Alphabet Stickers (ST-1814) , Stickers (ST-3056)

  

Happy Monday morning Momenta blog readers! Our weather today is supposed to be stormy, so I thought I would take a moment to share something that is shiny!!

 

My son loves to walk around in our shoes (that stage is just so cute) and of course I had to document that. This page is fairly easy and doesn’t take as much effort as it may appear. The most difficult and time consuming part is definitely the edge distressing, but I love the grunge look that it provides, especially when trying to add some boyish character to shiny & shimmery pages.

 

Here are just a few tips/techniques that I used to create this layout:

 

  • I am a bit heavy handed with my edge distresser, especially on lighter papers. But there is a great way around that. If the background paper tears, roll back the edge and put another piece of paper behind it (a great way to use up smaller scraps). This technique gives the layout a more layered, dimensional look.

 

  • To distress my photo, I simply sanded the edges. I also added the handwritten text and stapled the photos in place to add to the grunge feel.

 

 

  • The Puffy Flourish Stickers I added to the edge of the star push the reader to look out and continue their visual journey.

 

You can find the full directions on the Momenta  site soon, but hopefully in the meantime you can create your own wonderful grunge project!

 

Be sure to pick up some of the Metallic Paper Pads at the site. They are so much fun to work with – and you can get it in fabulous silver (which is my favorite) or gold ! Lots of shine & shimmer to them, unlike some of the ‘metallics’ I’ve seen. I think you will love them as much as I do!

 ~ Kelly C

2 Responses to “Walk A Mile In Your Shoes”

  1. Diane July 13, 2010 at 3:03 pm #

    Lovely lay out, such a great idea for your theme.

  2. Jan Hennings July 13, 2010 at 4:51 pm #

    super sweet layout and love the gems added to your alpha’s!

Leave a Reply

