Paper Pieced Turtle

4 Aug

Hi, everyone!

It’s Sherri, and I am going to share with you a fun

and budget-friendly way to personalize your paper crafts.

I love to paper-piece designs and

have found a great source for patterns:

children’s coloring books!

Right now, I am in love with little critters as accents,

so I was a happy girl when I found a Fisher Price Precious Planet

coloring book at my local dollar store.

I’m going to share how I used an image from this coloring book

to create a cute little framed critter.

First, I decided which parts of the image I wanted to cut apart.

You only need the larger shapes of the image-you can embellish later.

For my turtle, I decided to cut the head, body,

shell, scalloped border and flippers.

I traced each of these shapes separately on scrap paper,

then cut them out to use as templates.  (See Figure 1.)

Next, I traced the templates onto various patterned papers.

You could also use cardstock,

but I liked the patterns and colors in Momenta’s Endless Summer Paper Pad.

I cut out each piece and inked the edges with a charcoal gray inkpad.

(See Figure 2.)

Finally, I put adhered all of the pieces together,

using the original coloring book image as a guide.

I adhered the turtle to a 3.5″x5.5″ piece of embossed cardstock,

then matted it with a 4″x6″ piece of patterned paper

(also from the Endless Summer Paper Pad.)

Finally, I used a black pen to add eyes and a smile,

added a little sparkle to the eyes with a white gel pen,

and added some Bubbles and Bling.

A simple white frame (another dollar store find)

makes this a fun and inexpensive project.

(See Figure 3.)


Supplies used for this project:

PA-1108 Endless Summer Paper Pad

ST-1683 Bubbles & Bling Stickers-Tranquil

ST-1739 Bubbles & Bling Stickers-Vibrant

Other:

white embossed cardstock

charcoal gray ink pad

4″x6″ photo frame

SHERRI


8 Responses to “Paper Pieced Turtle”

  1. Nicole August 4, 2010 at 12:29 pm #

    Sherri this is adorable! Love the addition of the little bling around him:)

  2. Vera Yates August 4, 2010 at 2:18 pm #

    Oh my goodness, this turtle is the cutest! I love everything turtle related and this is just too cute! I think I’m going to make myself one. Thanks for the idea. 🙂

  3. Sherri Thompson August 4, 2010 at 2:33 pm #

    Hi, everyone! I’m not sure if it’s my computer or Wordporess, but the images appear distorted. However, if you click on the photos, you can see the “original” image. Also, if you would like me to email you the patterns that I used, please email me at sharecropperskits@gmail.com. I would be glad to send it to you! Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

  4. Terri E. August 4, 2010 at 2:40 pm #

    That is one creative piece of artwork! Great job with your turtle.

    It’s a good life!
    Terri E.

  5. Kathy August 6, 2010 at 4:38 am #

    So much talent!!! I just started using the Cricut but to make a turtle by making the patterns yourself is WOW! I’m going to save this little guy and show my daughter in law for her son Bret. He loves turtles. Yes, please send my the pattern you used. My email is snyder6854@yahoo.com I’m very impressed. I know i’m good at some things, but being “Crafty” is just not one of them. You’re so lucky you got the talent or had someone in your life to share their passion. Thanks, Kathy

  6. Rachael Giallongo August 7, 2010 at 12:08 am #

    Sherri, Thanks for sharing! This is awesome! You are so talented!

  7. Ashley Nguyen Newell August 9, 2010 at 2:50 am #

    Oh my goodness! This is the cutest thing ever! I would be perfect for my little guys, I might just have to make this!

  8. Sarah Mullanix August 10, 2010 at 3:06 pm #

    this is sooooo stinkin’ cute….gotta be the cutest little sea turtle ever!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

