OUR BIG BOY

9 Aug


Happy Monday Everyone!!

I have a 12×12 Layout of my sweet little 5 AND A HALF (laugh) year old to share with you today.

I used The Sweet Talk Paper Pack with has some FABULOUS classic patterns

and soft colors-lots of florals, stripes, polka dots and PINK.

Pink? On a boy Layout???

YEP!! I do it everyonce in awhile, since I don’t have a daughter and pink is my favorite color,

I try to find ways to ‘sneak’ it in on my ‘boy’ pages.

On this page, I used a diagonal striped pattern as my background

and then anchored it with a thin brown strip of cardstock on the left hand side.

I then layered a green scalloped piece that I cut out from my paper kit

(which WAS orginally printed AND centered on the SAME striped pattern,

I just knew that I would want my square to run off my page)

and then I cut an orange piece (measuring by eyeballing it)

and adhered it to my scalloped piece.

I took care not to add adhesive to the edges of my paper,

knowing that I would want to add some stitching later

(FYI-glue and a sewing needle do NOT work well together).

I anchored my photo by adding a piece of scrap white cardstock (PA-1036) and adhereing it to the right of my LO.

Using 2 paper punches, I punched 3 sets of circles (PA-0659),

centred, adhered and added a small doodled outline.

I adhered them on my page

(note the visual triangle they make-if your are lost on where to place embellishments, this tried and true trick works EVERYTIME).

I then added some coordinanting bling ( PK-2045) and buttons.

I then used a pre-fab label (note additional layering) and the tiny alphas from the Sweet Talk paper pack (PA-2060).

I then hand journalled on left over pieces of thin white cardstock

and then matted them onto a contrasting cardstock (this really gives your project a bit of ‘pizzazz’).


This was where I intended on finishing my page but the top left hand corner looked VERY empty to me,

so I decided on making a banner and adding it to my page as well.

Banners are VERY trendy right now and offer an interesting place to put a message.

I started by making a rough template approx.

1″L x 3/4″ W (so my triangles would all be roughly the same size-again, I eye-balled it) and hand-cut 9 triangles.

I inked the edges & matted on a darker piece of cardstock and closely trimmed to leave only a small portion visable.

I finished it off with tiny alphas, foam dot adhesive and a hand stitch through the banner, anchored with brads.


I was REALLY happy with the end result.

Hopefully this little tutorial gives you some motivation to experiment with colors & papers that you might normally not use on certain Layouts.

Happy Scrapping!!

Cindy 🙂

Leave a Reply

