Getting to know…. Nicole Stark

25 Sep

1.  How long have you been scrapbooking/crafting?

Crafting I’ve been doing in some form or another since I was old enough to hold a paintbrush, crayon, or pencil.

My grandmother and mother are both very creative and I started at a young age painting,

sewing, cross stitching, and anything I could get my hands on.

My grandma owned a ceramic store when I was in middle school.

I use to walk over after school and sit with her for hours as she divulged in my creative adventures.

I started scrapbooking of sorts when I was in High School.

I took a trip to Europe one summer and after going through over ten rolls of film

I figured I needed to do something with them.

I started trying to organize all the pictures into an album with a few scrapbooking supplies thrown in.

I didn’t really get passionate about paper though until after the birth of my son in 2002.

After just a few months of playing with paper  I was hooked.  Now I can’t imagine life without it!

2.  How would you define your style?

My style . . . always interesting trying to put a name on it.

I prefer to say that I’m linear with a twist.

I like a lot of straight lines (the t-square is one of my most used tools) and layers.

I  love adding dimension and texture and all the small little details to finish off a project.

3. Describe your family.

My family is my boys and I.

That would be me, my hubby Brandon and our little guy Wesley.

Brandon and I have been married for 10 years this year.

He’s my best friend and a very supportive, wonderful guy that deals with my crazy hobby.

Our world revolves around the little guy.

We have really come to celebrate every stage Wesley goes through

trying to embrace it all before it passes quickly by  (just one more reason I LOVE to scrapbook).

We spend lots of time together just the three of us going on runs, playing video games, and just enjoying each other.

4.  What is your favorite holiday?

Growing up my favorite holiday was Christmas,

but since marrying my hubby I’ve come around to the idea of Halloween

and it’s ranked a very close second.

He really, really loves Halloween and his excitement and energy about the night is very contagious.

It’s almost sad to say that we have WAY more Halloween decorations than any other holiday.

5.  Tell us a unique fact about yourself.

I have a really loud laugh.

Seriously people often know I’m at a party/gathering before they even see me

because they can hear me laughing.

And if you get me laughing hard enough it will even sound like a witches cackle

(I can’t believe I’m telling everyone this).

I can think of a few more , but I’ll spare you . . .

6.  Do you have other hobbies besides scrapbooking?

• Reading, I’m a avid reader.

I take full advantage of our library system and take weekly trips to search for new books.

I carry a book with me everywhere I go just in case I have a few minutes (you never know).

I also have really gotten into fitness the last year

(is that a hobby?  I guess I would consider it a hobby) and have even picked up running.

cooking – a natural transition when it comes to fitness.  I love to try new recipes!

photography – I’m constantly reading and trying new things to make my pictures better.

7.  What is your favorite Momenta collection?

I’m drawn to the boys/sports themed items, obvious right?;)

I also really like the bright colors in the spring and summer lines and the textured cardstock makes my palms itch to play!

8.  What inspires you to create?

It can be something different everyday.

A picture/memory I want to record.  New product I can’t wait to use.

A sketch.  As long as the inspiration comes I work away.

When it doesn’t I don’t fight it and I step away for a bit and enjoy my other interests.

9.  What is your favorite technique?

I tend to get in ruts and will do something over and over again until I can’t stand the sight of it on one more layout .

Right now I’m really digging circles.

Big circles, hollow circles, overlapping circles . . . I wonder how long this one will last.

10.  Share your favorite quote.

Through all of living have much joy and laughter, life is to be enjoyed, not just endured.”

— Gordon B. Hinckley

NICOLE’S BLOG

One Response to “Getting to know…. Nicole Stark”

  1. Jan hennings September 25, 2010 at 1:19 pm #

    So happy to het to know you better 🙂

Leave a Reply

